Our History


The Late Dr. Sim Tang Eng
First President

Maad Our History

The First Meeting by the Committee

Maad Past Presidents

Past President, Dr. Yeo Kian Boon with world renown speaker, Dr. Ron Jackson






A group of Founding Members led by Dr. Sim Tang Eng first met on the 27 June, 2002, at No. 75 Jalan Setiabakti, Bukit Damansara, Kuala Lumpur to propose the formation of the MAAD. Its subsequent meetings culminated with the proposal to organise the Inaugural Meeting, Malaysian Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry, on the 24 November 2002 at the Armada Hotel, Petaling Jaya. This was in collaboration with Dentsply with the theme, ‘Mastering Esthetic Restorative Dentistry’. It was a full day of scientific lecture on aesthetic dentistry by Dr. Andrew Shannon from Vancouver, Canada, and a session of official meeting to elect new office-bearers for the Academy.

The protem committee duly elected were:
President: Dr. Sim Tang Eng
Secretary: Dr. Yeo Kian Boon
Treasurer: Dr. Sarat C. Datta
Assistant Secretary: Dr. Suresh Nair
Assistant Treasurer: Dr. Hooi Sek Kee
Council Members: Professor Dr. Abdul Aziz Razak
  Dr. Larry Au Yong Siew Wai
  Professor Dr. Lui Joo Loon
  Professor Dr. Toh Chooi Gait

The Committee has been entrusted to propose the Constitution of the MAAD and to register with the Registrar of Societies. The meeting was also graced by the attendance of Dr. Peter Tay, President-Elect International Federation of Esthetic Dentistry and Associate Professor Dr. Jennifer Neo, President of the Aesthetic Dentistry Society of Singapore. The logo of the MAAD was designed and contributed by Mr. Alex Chan, People-N-Rich, who is also the spouse of Professor Dr. Toh Chooi Gait.

Upon submission for the formation of MAAD, the Registrar of Societies has advised the committee to rename the MAAD to the Malaysian Association of Aesthetic Dentistry or Persatuan Pergigian Estetik Malaysia. As such, the first Annual General Meeting of the Malaysian Association of Aesthetic Dentistry was held on the 25 April 2004 at the Pan Pacific Glenmarie Hotel, Shah Alam. This was in collaboration with Ivoclar-Vivadent with the theme, ‘Tooth Colored Restorative Excellence: A Potpourri of Procedural Innovations’. It was conducted by Dr. William Liebenberg (B.Sc., BDS) Vancouver, Canada.

Since then, MAAD has been consistently organising quality meetings and hands-on workshop annually.

In 2006, our President, Dr. Sim Tang Eng was elected as the President-Elect, Asian Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry (AAAD) in Bali, Indonesia. In 2008 he assumed the Presidency in Nepal.

On 10 August 2009, MAAD presented its first study award named ‘MAAD Award’ to the Best Final Year Dental Student (in subjects related to aesthetic dentistry), University Malaya. It was presented by the President, Dr. Yeo Kian Boon during the Pre-Convocation Ceremony of the Faculty of Dentistry, University of Malaya. The first recipient was Dr. Saw Soon Leng. The award has been presented annually since then. In 2013, the award was renamed ‘Dr. Sim Tang Eng Award’ in memory of our late Founding President who passed away in 2012. In 2014, the same award was also concurrently given to International Islamic University and University Teknologi MARA Malaysia. MAAD have also offered the same award to other Universities, and is currently awaiting acceptance from University Kebangsaan Malaysia and University Sains Malaysia.

In 2010, MAAD had the honour of being the host for the 11th Bienniel Meeting of the Asian Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry in Prince Hotel & Residence, Kuala Lumpur from the 14-17 May 2010. It was held in conjunction with the MAAD 7th Annual General Meeting and Scientific Symposium. The meeting hosted multiple high-powered speakers with other parallel sessions; free communications, poster presentations, hands-on workshop, AAAD and MAAD Business Meetings. It was the biggest meeting ever hosted by MAAD, a real international event and was a resounding success.

Comments are closed